Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

The cookie settings on this website are set to 'allow all cookies' to give you the very best experience. Please click Accept Cookies to continue to use the site.

PFA Awards 2019

PFA Awards 2019

Posted by Kit Kotak on 4th Jun 2019

Scancom are proud to be partnered with The Professional Football Association.

As part of our partnership we have had the privilege of attending their annual awards ceremony that are held at the JW Marriot Grosvenor House London.

The Professional Footballers' Association Men's Players' Player of the Year (often called the PFA Men's Players' Player of the Year, the Players' Player of the Year, or simply the Player of the Year) is an annual award given to the player who is adjudged to have been the best of the year in English Football. 

The award has been presented since the 1973 -74 season and the winner is chosen by a vote amongst the members of the players trade union, The Professional Football Association. The current holder is Virgil van Diijk, who won the award on 28 April 2019.

Every spring, each member of the association votes for two players. A shortlist of nominees is published in April and the winner of the award, along with the winners of the PFA's other annual awards, is announced at a gala event in London a few days later. 

The award is regarded by the players themselves as extremely prestigious, with Teddy Sheringham describing it in 2001 as "the biggest personal award you can get in the game", and John Terry stating in 2005 that he considered it "the ultimate accolade to be voted for by your fellow professionals whom you play against week-in and week-out".